top of page

I'll do it later...

How do you measure ‘later’?

That’s a difficult one, and very much dependent on who you’re giving that timescale to. For example, if you say ‘later’ to a child the response is almost inevitably ‘when later?’ If your boss asks you when you are planning to do something then ‘later’ is not going to work as you should have already done it. If I say to my wife that I’m planning to do something later, I realise quickly that I should have said ‘now’ instead of ‘later’! Disclaimer: that’s not always true!

That’s my excuse for not blogging for a couple of months. I planned to do it ‘later’!

I was doing the ironing earlier (i.e. I did it ‘now’ and not ‘later’! LOL) and I listened to some recent episodes of “I’m Sorry I Haven’t a Clue” on iPlayer Radio. I haven’t listened to it for some time, but I think Jack Dee has made a decent job of replacing Humphrey Lyttleton as host. The regular panelists Graeme Garden and Tim Brooke-Taylor are as funny as they always have been, while Barry Cryer, Jeremy Hardy, Pam Ayres and Rory Bremner added their style as guest panelists. If you’ve never listened to it you should give it a go.

I regularly listen to old radio comedy such as The Grumbleweeds (which is my favourite, but rarely repeated as it features a Jimmy Savile spoof as a regular item!), I’m Sorry I’ll Read That Again, Round the Horne, The Men from the Ministry, The Goons Show and The News Quiz. There are also radio versions of Little Britain, Steptoe and Son, Dad’s Army, Goodness Gracious Me and Dead Ringers.

Being able to close your eyes and use your imagination and picture characters is brilliant, especially with The Goons and The Grumbleweeds. My point is that radio comedy tests your visual imagination and is more interactive, whereas TV comedy does it for you. If you’ve never listened to radio comedy give it a try and ‘hear’ for yourself!

Incidentally, my colleague’s son was very upset when his Mum put Ginger in the curry - he loved that cat!

bottom of page